Testimonials

All our reviews from previous guests have been sent to us by them after their stay. We are not on TripAdvisor as we are booked privately and we do not pay a commission to any public travel sites. All reviews can be authenticated and you can speak with any of our previous guests who become part of the Kalukanda family and we stay in touch. Some of have returned multiple times...

Family

Millers, 2 families April 2022

June 2022

Sri Lanka will spoil you for all the rest ! Wow, 4 years in the planning and 2 years later than scheduled, but our trip to Kalukanda House in Sri Lanka was incredible. We felt unbelievably relaxed, safe and calm in the knowledge anything and everything is catered for

And the Sri Lankan people are so compassionate and warm and welcoming, even now in one of their most challenging economical and political times - so many smiles and such a deep and sincere appreciation for us taking the time to learn about their wonderful island and culture. Never before have I been so spoilt and yet felt so appreciated for taking the time to just “be” with them.

Family

Sophie and Sian, 2 families April 2022

June 2022

A big thank you to you and your wonderful staff for such an enjoyable holiday last week. From the initial communication right until the very end we felt incredibly well looked after and honestly couldn’t have imagined a more pleasurable holiday. We are still speaking about Kalukunda house daily and plan to visit annually.

Family

Winnicks, repeat guests February 2022

June 2022

Thankyou for another BRILLIANT holiday, the only complaint is it was too short. The boat trip we had was fantastic, absolutely 5 stars. We had a massive catamaran just for the 8 of us , it felt like we were living the high life. We had such a great time, Kalukanda house is just such an elegant place, so relaxing, we really love it there, please let us back again.

Family

The Coopers December 2021

June 2022

Thanks so much for taking such good care of us in Sri Lanka and for such an amazing introduction to an extraordinary country. It is a magical place and we will definately recommend it to our friends it is the perfect family getaway. It’s amazing the staff are so open to cooking whatever we want. I think centering ourselves at the villa and making excursions was the right way forward with the children who loved it and want to go back soon. Thankyou to the team for looking after us so well.

Couple

Rebecca and Nathan, Honeymoon Oct 2021

June 2022

Kalukanda House was our home oasis from home. The moment I saw the house online and read it’s story, I knew we had to stay there during our visit. Dee immediately felt like the big sister I never had, and I was so touched by her personal communication and words. Upon pulling up to the gates and seeing the home in reality, Nathan and I were truly blown away! We have never seen anything with such grandeur, sophistication, and an utterly warmest of soul. Our stay in the house could not have been more pleasant. We started our day with a tranquil morning swim in the beautiful pool, soaked in each incredible meal by the extremely accomplished chef, and lavished in the truly incredible perfection of the beach (just one block away!), the phenomenal architecture of the home, and the pristine sunsets in the veranda with our gin and tonics playing our favorite card game. It was, and will always be, one of the most incredible honors of our lives to stay at Kalukanda House and visit Sri Lanka. Nathan and I made an immediate promise to come back for one of our last honeymoons as old husband and wife.

Family

Julia October 2021

June 2022

Julia, October 2021

I booked Kalukanda House when we were still in lockdown, having not had a family holiday for nearly two years as soon as I heard about it and saw the website. It did not disappoint.

The house is beautifully designed and tastefully decorated, set in stunning gardens. The daytrip to Udawalawe safari park was amazing. We got to see elephants and monkeys up close, as well as peacocks, water buffalos and beautiful birds and butterflies, then we stopped off at the nearby Elephant transit centre to see the orphaned, rescued baby elephants being fed their milk, which was magical. In between

I have worked and taken calls internationally, the Wifi is strong and no technical problems. I would love to come back with friends or family – the perfect peaceful retreat and I will be recommending it to everyone I know. Thank you to everyone.

Family

Charpin Family

July 2020

February 2020 Half Term 2020

There are few places we know where one can enjoy beauty, hospitality, authenticity, simplicity, sophistication and a ton of warm, genuine human encounters. Kalukanda House has been one of those special places for us, adults and children alike.

We have had such a wonderful week, and we owe that to you Dee and the team. And the amazing chef! Thanks a million! Ademan and Charpin Family (from London)

Family

Chanda Pandya

May 2020

July 2019

Words cannot describe the full experience. All our senses have been touched and magic is created here.

Family

Claire King

May 2020

Christmas 2019

Just WOW - what an amazing house and wonderful people you have working here. A truly special place! Having the best time already and we've only been here an hour! Thankyou.

Family

The Butlers

May 2020

New Year 2019/20

The food, your home and wonderful hospitality have been exceptional, thankyou.

Family

The Balfours and Higgins.

May 2020

Dec 28th 2018 - Jan 4th 2019

We were delighed to be the first guests to celebrate New Year at Kalukanda House and what a week it was!

The devoted staff looked after us so well and the chef's cooking was delicious - the lobster and curries are some of the best we have ever eaten!

Our tuk tuk driver was also a fantastic guide and so patient and sweet with the young boys. The week was a whirlwind of wonderful yoga, enchanting sunset bike rides, surfing in Weligama and eating Sri Lankan egg hoppers wherever we could find them. Definately ask for the Sri Lankan braekfast at the villa.

We look forward to coming back soon.

Family

Paula Bostock

May 2020

February half term 2019

THANK YOU for such a wonderful week. The minute we arrived we fell in love with the house and staff.

Having seen Sri Lanka myself several times, I can't tell you how happy and at home we have all felt here ; yoga, ocean, jungle, safari, Temples, Galle, cookery courses - MAGICAL!

The house and garden are full of energy!

Solo Traveler

Caroline Velarde

May 2020

3 -10 March 2019, Yofa Retreat

This week was our yoga retreat of Freedom with 6 amazing aldies. I loved every minute of it. I feel that the Tiger is awakening inside thanks to you. Thanks for welcoming us to your corner of paradise.

Solo Traveler

Nathalie Reis

May 2020

March 3-10, 2019 Yoga Retreat

Dear Dee

Thankou so much for making our week in Sri Lanka one of the best in my life, with colours, fragrances and spices that I will always remember.

Kalukanda House is a unique place, a pure jewel in an amazing part of the world.

Everything about your house is luxury and a sheer treat.

The yoga retreat was perfect and after a whole week with lovely ladies I feel so relaxed and happy, It's gongi to be hard to go back to London.

An unforgettable experience.

Solo Traveler

Suzanna Reed

May 2020

3-10 March, 2019 Yoga Retreat

Dear Dee,

Such a wonderful week we have all had. I have been pinching myself all week, so many fabulous experiences and memories to last a lifetime.

You have created an idyllic oasis of beauty and calm amongst the hustle and bustle of Sri Lanka. Kalukanda House is so stylish and filled with beautiful objects.

Thankyou for welcoming us to your home and making our stay so much fun.

Solo Traveler

Anne Marabout

May 2020

3-10 March 2019, Yoga Retreat

Thank you so, so much for this incredible, fantastic week with all the chicas. Your house is a little paradise on Earth. I hope ot come back with my family.

Lots of love,

Anne

Family

The Gardener Family

March 2020

Thankyou for a fantastic stay KH team! The children felt at home immediately, the pool and house to themselves were a welcome respite after a busy week travelling around Sri Lanka.

Special thanks to all the staff who really looked after us, the delicious meals and for making this Christmas a very relaxed one. Thanks for all the personal details for us that made our stay extra special.

Family

David & Beatrice

March 2020

We decided to come back only 8 months after our first trip to Sri Lanka, so we only need to say we LOVE Kalukanda House!

Luxury property, amazing team, fantastic food!

We added to our list of un-missables the cookery lesson with Suranga following an epic visit to the food market in Thalpe.

We will be back soon, still so many things to do!

Family

Jo & Martin

March 2020

Kalukanda house is a wonderful place to stay. After a week touring the amazing sights of Sri Lanka we came here for a week of R&R in the most beautiful setting. Beaches a stone’s throw away, wonderful food, gorgeous pool, this place is just heavenly. We hope to come back!

Family

Patricia Perez-Soto

March 2020

I have been in Kalukanda house twice this year and I consider it my home in Sri Lanka. As soon as the gate opens a sense of wellbeing spreads all over you.

The most perfect swimming pool surrounded by the most incredible garden.. swimming there is a magical experience, listening to the sounds coming from the jungle and the gorgeous and catchy whistle from the man selling bread.

Then ‘the house’, what can I say?? The house is the result of the love story between Dee and this project and you can feel it everwhere. Every single detail is perfect, from the antiques to the gorgeous smell of the shower gel.

Finally the wonderful staff at Kalukanda House, always ready to help you and book things doesn’t matter how late you decide to go to Galle, surfing or for an Ayurvedic massage, the smile is always there. Kalukanda House has definetely worked her magic on me and i will keep going back there.

Family

Bea & David

March 2020

Kalukanda House has been designed with luxury and authenticity in mind. The colonial interior, the furniture are all of very high standard. The antiques and local pieces of art have been curated with love and give the house a delicate personality.

The garden is elegant and peaceful, the trees’ delightful scents (frangipaniers) are soothing, the very large pool is a fantastic addition. The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful and arranged for us many local trips, many in the so typical own house’s tuk-tuk.

A truly beautiful experience for our family, the moment we left we were already planning our next trip back!

Family

Lisa & Ed

October 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing Sri Lankan home. Kalukanda House is incredible, so beautiful. The staff looked after us so well and chef made incredible food, I can’t wait to go home and copy his recipes. I loved the sambal!..Need more time, need to come back…

(excerpts from hand written testimonial in the villa guest book)

Family

Lisa & Derek

August 2018

Kalukanda House can only be described as a 5 star hotel only there are no other guests!

The staff meet you on arrival and then take care of your every whim but magically seem to disappear into the background.

The chef managed to meet every dietary requirement/fussy eater whilst we explored Sri Lanka.

Safari, dolphin watching, surfing, temples, yoga, snorkelling with turtles in a coral reef has blown my kids minds. Today was Galle Fort guided tour and now back at the house, I am just about to have a massage in the yoga shala whilst the kids are letting off steam in the enormous pool.

Tomorrow after a sunrise surfing lesson the chef is going to teach me how to make the most delicious Dahl I have ever eaten. The only criticism I have on leaving this place is that I have to leave.

Thank you Kalukanda House

Family

Jerome X

March 2018

Family holidays surrounded by a peaceful environment. Great house and well renovate. Staff always with a smile on their faces and very welcoming. Perfect moments in a perfect place.

We had a very good time in your house. Service is great and beautiful materials used to build the house. Thank you.

Solo Traveler

Janie Airey

January 2018

Escaping the UK for a colourful, warm and delicious week in Sri Lanka may have to become an annual occurrence.

Kalukanda House is a true delight and has been beautifully and thoughtfully designed as well as tastefully decorated with exquisite antique pieces, this is a special house.

The high ceilings and colonial fans, the fresh fruits for breakfast, the G&T on the veranda looking through to the magical garden, an afternoon dip in the pool and the most delicious suppers from the chef made it hard to go out of the grounds and actually explore. The very short stroll to the beach for a swim or surf is a must and a Tuk Tuk is always on hand to zip anywhere you fancy… to nearby Weligama or down to Galle.

I’d recommend an early morning visit to watch the fisherman bringing in their haul in Marissa. There’s so much to do, 1 week wasn’t enough.

Kalukanda House has a real sense of calm and luxury… so you’re truly indulged in every sense. It’s a great location for exploring from but equally easy to just relax and loose some days feeling spoiled.

Solo Traveler

Dylan Ayaloo

January 2018

Kalukanda House is an oasis of calm and tranquility, built to perfection and exquisite taste and brilliance. As a yogi and yoga teacher, the garden was a perfect location to do my daily morning practice and lead a group through the practice. The calm, tranquility and nature surrounding the house facilitates for the perfect meditation space. The pool a great way to cool of the warmth of the Sri Lankan sunshine. The staff were especially diligent and a keen eye to detail from our needs in the home to the magnificent local cuisine served daily. Truly a paradise awaiting to be discovered and explored. I highly recommend booking the entire house for your groups or trips.

Solo Traveler

Rukman Sivaloganathan

January 2018

Spent 3 amazing days at Kalukanda House during the Galle Literary Festival in January.

I usually stay inside the Fort so for a change I thought I’d stay somewhere quieter and honestly couldn’t have picked a better place. The villa itself is influenced by the ‘Walauwa’ style, (i.e. the style in which the homes of the local nobility were built) and is generally excellent.

The pool is fantastic and there is an ‘ambalama’ (a shaded resting place for pilgrims built along main routes by the kings) in the garden that’s perfect for yoga sessions.

Which brings me to my favourite part of the house: the garden. The property backs up against a cliff face and the garden has a mysterious feel to it. Very calming too. The meals, service, etc were all excellent. Will definitely go back again soon.